Goldfinches

Some time ago I bought a bag of thistle seed in an attempt to entice some goldfinches to come to my backyard, but not much luck. Very rarely I would see one or two on the main feeder, but never taking the thistle seed. About a week ago I bought a cheap mesh feeder that is for thistle seed, filled it and put it up in a tree using a hook which I manipulated into place using my window washing squeegie extended to its full length.

Just today I was thinking to take it down because I had never seen a bird there at all–except the one that is painted on the bag itself. Then I looked out the window and there were goldfinches in their winter clothes munching away.

I’ve had quite a few birds on my feeders since Christmas. Everyday there are house finches, cardinals, juncos, and mourning doves. Other common visitors are red-bellied woodpeckers, Carolina chickadees, field sparrows, white-winged doves, and tufted titmice. Occasionally I’ll see blue jays, yellow-rumped warblers, ruby-crowned kinglets, and Inca doves.

One Response to “Goldfinches”

  1. Chickadees at Ed’s Birdhouse | Miscellaneous Videos Says:

    […] Goldfinches « Linda's Family News […]

Leave a Reply

