Making Pasties

While in the Upper Peninsula, we ate a meat pie kind of thing called pasties (pronunciation: PAST-teez). Rachel liked them so much she wanted to try making them. I found lots of recipes, but to be entirely honest, they didn’t turn out all that well–ours were rather dry and bland. But we had fun making them:


Rachel really NEEDS a rolling pin!



I think we forgot to take any photos after they were baked. Maybe we’ll try again another time, because it is nice to have them in the freezer.

4 Responses to “Making Pasties”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I didn’t check out the recipes yet but I once heard that a key ingredient to the ones in the U.P. is the vegtable Rutabaga. I am sure they have some secret spices they might add that make them extra tasty.

    Once when my oldest was in the U.P. biking with boyscouts there leader/trainer was a local female teacher. The boys loved them and would stop every location to buy one and they kept calling them (Paste ezzs) which are a totally different thing, a vaudiville cover up if you know what I mean?! So before they went into the store she would have to remind them of their pronounciation! And she also had to explain to the troop what Pasties ( Paste ezzs) were!

  2. Linda Says:

    Yeah, I know what you mean, and that’s why I put the pronunciation key in my blog! I didn’t put rutabaga or turnips in our recipe, but I will if I ever try again.

    -Linda

  3. Kathy Says:

    Oh good, I just read your reply! This is like instant messaging which I don’t know how to do!

    I like the recipe : Upper Penninsula because it is the only one that calls for lard and lately I have been making crusts with lard because I really do like the flavor and although it may not be as good for you as vegetable oils I have a lot a relatives a that grew old eating lard pies all their life. Plus the carrots potato and rutabaga and onion are my favorite to have in them. I am going to get some rutabaga the next time I am at the store because you have made me hungry.

    I am surprised that yours didn’t taste like what you had in the UP because Rachel rolled them out like a real “upper” with an aluminum can and all! That would be consided a “upper” trick and what a real “upper” known for.

  4. Kathy Says:

    Speaking of pronounciation! I should have written it as “U”per or youpper, or yooper! You get my drift.

    I enjoyed your pics of your trip up North and I have had an article here for over a week from the Sunday GR press about the grand hotel and just thought you might like to look at it. It was just a really nice article. and this sept there is such a good deal there for $97 a person for a night buy breakfast lunch dinner and room. Glad you had such a good time there with the brunch and the porch!

Leave a comment