Lock Your Car!

Our car broken into last night. The GPS unit and Gary’s special driving glasses were taken. It was unlocked.

This morning at about 8:30am I got a call from an unknown number and the guy said, “My car was broken into last night and a CD case with your name and phone number was there.” I was like, “Huh? What are you talking about?”

He repeated it and I finally said, “Well, I don’t know how it got there, so just throw it away.” Then he replied, “No, you must have broken into my car!”

I told him I did not, and that he should call the police. He said he would.

Then an hour later I went out to get into our car and noticed the trunk was open and inside the console between the seats was open and some contents of the glove box were on the floor. Ding-ding! Oh, OUR car was broken into as well! The GPS is gone and the case it was in had my name and phone number on it. (Not a CD case, it was actually the case my binoculars came in, but I was using it for storing the Garmin.)

I called the guy back and told him my story. He said the police had already caught someone on a bicycle with stolen items in his backpack. I called the police too, and when the officer arrived he was holding the case to my GPS, but, of course, it was empty. The thief had taken my GPS, then left its case inside the other guy’s car! The two different officers realized that the two cases were related.

So, we may or may not get our items back, we’ll have to wait a few days to see. But if we don’t, that means Gary can’t drive unless we replace the Ocutech, originally from the Texas Commission for the Blind.
Ocutech VES-II - Google Chrome_2013-05-15_13-29-30

I guess I’m going to have to start being a bit more careful about locking our car.

One Response to “Lock Your Car!”

  1. Outsmarting Both Best Buy and Garmin | Linda's Family News Says:

    […] After my old GPS unit was stolen I bought a new one ($160) and after only 1 month the screen cracked while I was attaching the furnished clip that holds it onto the windshield. Click on the photo for a closer look and you can see all the cracks. I took it back to Best Buy and the young man was very unhelpful and aloof. Next, I contacted Garmin directly, and they offered to fix it for $120. For that price I would just buy a new one of a different brand. But while poking around online I found a place that sells replacement screens ($42 including shipping) so I ordered one. It took 10 days to get here, and it took some effort to find instructional videos on YouTube, but in the end I fixed it myself. When I powered it on, yay, it worked! […]

Leave a Reply

