A Messed Up Brain

ancient_scroll_1600_clr

 

We have a boy in our church who a few years ago survived a tragic fall from a 3rd story window. He barely lived, but thanks to the prayers of God’s people, he is now a happy child who attends Sunday School.

His brain was hurt during this fall and he is not what one would call completely normal. He walks, he talks, he sings like an angel, and he participates fully in class. He’s just a little slow with reading, and writing, and logic does not seem to be on his side. But he talks. Boy, can he talk.

Today during class I was having everyone copy scripture like Ezra the scribe. He was actually copying the verse quite well, but much slower than everyone else. Then he said to me, “I’m sad.”

“Why are you sad?” I asked.

“I”m afraid I won’t go to heaven if I can’t finish writing or reading.”

[silent jaw drop]

I did my best to assure him that going to heaven had nothing to do with reading or writing, but rather believing in Jesus to forgive your sins. We continued on with making our scrolls.

After church I stood in the choir cluster putting away my music and he poked his hand through the crowd to get my attention. “I love you,” he said, then ran off.

Leave a Reply

