Global Big Day Includes a Lifer

In honor of the Global Big Birding Day, my friend Lois and I had planned an early morning birding trip to the State Park, but it was raining when we got up, so we canceled. Then it stopped raining, and we decided to go for a short time anyway. So glad we did–she saw at least two lifers, and I saw one.

I also saw a rare gull–well, rare for Dallas, that is. I verified with the eBird curator (aka eBird police) that this gull is a Laughing Gull, and they usually don’t come to Dallas.  And the curator even called it a “nice” find.  Yes, that is high praise.  🙂

DSC00445

My lifer, also verified by eBird, was a White-rumped Sandpiper–a tiny little shore bird that was hanging out with a Wilson’s Phalarope and the above gull.  That brings my lifer total up to 402.

DSC00484

DSC00486

DSC00487

DSC00488

Here’s the Wilson’s Phalarope:

DSC00451

DSC00480

DSC00494

Leave a Reply

