Our Father Who Aren’t In Heaven

I was thinking about having a little lesson for my Sunday School class about language change. So we used the Lord’s prayer as a starting place–after all, we recite it each Sunday in church and the kids pretty much have it memorized

“Our Father who art in heaven”–what does that mean, I asked.

“God is on earth but not in heaven,” one of them replied.

“No, no, it means the opposite of that,” I replied.

“But it says ‘aren’t in heaven,'” she countered.

Sigh.

Next line: Hallowed be thy name.

“Hollywood?” another one of them asked.

“No, ‘hallowed’ means ‘holy,’ I said

And so on…

Then in church we sang:

Here I raise my Ebenezer,
Hither by Thy help I’ve come,
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,
Safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger,
Wandering from the fold of God,
He, to rescue me from danger,
Interposed His precious blood.

I guess it is no wonder kids tune out at church…everyone there speaks a foreign language.

Leave a Reply

