Fix-It Day

I didn’t go to work today. I stayed home and fixed things.

I started by washing all our utensil holders and changed out a blue one for a beautiful one of earth tones. The blue one has no nicks or chips, so it could still be used as a gift from Desert Sun Pottery.

dsc01553

Next, I fixed the carpet beater attachment to our vacuum cleaner (though now that I have, we own two perfectly good vacuum cleaners…).

dsc01546

Then a miracle happened. I was placing another piece of pottery up on the very high top of the kitchen shelves when I found the spot blocked by a stick. Turns out this stick was something all three of us have been looking for since the weekend we hid it from the foster child we were babysitting. It is the wand used to open and close the wooden blinds in the living room–but the metal loop had broken many weeks ago. Today I fixed it using a cup hook, florist wire, and epoxy putty. Yay! Now we can open an shut the blinds again.

20161018_223416

After that I decided I needed a necklace watch–all the ones I buy for my wrist just die. I saw a few online that looked OK, but then I decided to go to my watch graveyard and see what I could find. I ended up removing the works from a old necklace watch, replacing it with the works from a wrist watch, turning the face 90 degrees, finding a working battery, and attaching it to a string of Solomon Islands shell money. Now I have a working necklace watch and a unique one at that.

dsc01548

dsc01549

Then, lastly, I repaired the broken hinge on the recycle bin because somebody–no names will be mentioned–backed into it and knocked it over, breaking one of the hinges. Not sure if this fix will last, but I’m giving it a try.  No two tiny bolts matched.

dsc01554

Then my last project of the day was to sort the nuts and bolts, nails and screws, gizmos and gadgets–consolidating so we can save space (which is at a premium around here!).

20161018_221220

I also cleaned off my desk and did a few chores in the pile there, and–drum roll, please–I found Gary’s lost boxes of baseball cards.

All in all, a good day.  Sadly, we decided to cancel our camping trip this coming Th-Sat because all the campsites were already taken for Friday night.  Oh, well.  The last time we went camping was 1.5 years ago when we got rained out and came home to a tree in our roof.

One Response to “Fix-It Day”

  1. Mary Says:

    I need you at my house. My computer especially  needs you.  Now go to bed  and rest.!

Leave a Reply

