(Non-) Political Rant

I try not to rant too often in this blog. After all, it is called “Linda’s Family News” (not Linda’s rants). But today I feel like expressing my feelings and my thinkings not about politics per se, but rather people’s reaction to politics.  (And by people, I mean people who identify themselves as Christian.  I have no opinion about non-believers in the political realm.)

To start with I’ll say: I did not vote for Trump nor did I vote for Clinton. I didn’t like either one of them, so I didn’t vote for either one of them.

On one side, I am troubled by Christian friends of mine who go way out of their way to rationalize and approve of things that various political leaders do and say that are just plain stupid. In my head I say to them, “Would you want one of your kids acting and talking like that?? Yeah, me either.”

On the other side, I am troubled by Christian friends who feel overly angry or depressed or anxious about politics. In my head I say to them, “Don’t you remember that we don’t really belong here? Our citizenship is in heaven and we are aliens and strangers on this earth. So let the peace of Christ rule in your heart, not the vagaries of any given political leader in any given country.”

On the third side, I am troubled by Christian friends who used to be strongly conservatively political, and now, they have turned away from their previous stance and use every Facebook opportunity to rub people’s nose it it (and by “people” I mean their family and friends whose camp they have recently vacated).  In my head I say to them, “Really??  You look pretty immature.”

Though I find politics distasteful,  I know some Christians are very interested in politics and I don’t hold that against them, except as noted above.

OK, I’ll shut up now.

Leave a Reply

