Lifer! Black-headed Grosbeak

I got a lifer a couple days ago–not bad for a old grandma with a broken leg sitting in the kitchen! At first I thought it was a Baltimore Oriole, which in itself would be pretty unusual. But the bill was all wrong for an oriole. I got a good look and fortunately, a couple photos, though they aren’t very good. The eBird police questioned me within 20 minutes of making my list, but once I sent the photos, they were satisfied that even though this bird is a rarity for my location, it really was legit. Maybe they were even a little envious? 😉 This is only the third ever Black-headed Grosbeak for Dallas county listed in eBird.

DSC03573

DSC03575

Then just a few minutes later, a Rose-breasted Grosbeak also showed up. This is pretty unusual for Dallas, too, but not a rarity.

DSC03583

Leave a comment